what i’ve learned from a year of “no”

I can sum up 2011 in a word. “No.”

In a lot of ways, this year has been about rejection. But I’ve still gained from 2011 – in the form of some lessons learned.

  • There’s only going to be one end of the world, and that wasn’t it.
  • You really don’t know unless you try.
  • Finding out what I’m not good at is at least as useful as knowing what I am good at. Even when it hurts.
  • I don’t have to be the best at everything I do to have friends. (In fact… needing to be the best all the time is often a good way to not make friends.)
  • I REALLY don’t know what is going to happen next. So planning moves down the priority list, while trying to enjoy / do my best in the present moves up.
  • I REALLY can’t change the past. So rewriting it with a lot of ‘what-if’s’ moves off the priority list entirely.
  • I make mistakes, and that is ok.
  • There’s a pretty big difference between my best on a good day, and my best on a bad day. And that is ok.
  • I have to believe in myself even when I feel like no one else does.
  • Most of the time, listening to others’ problems kindly is much more useful than trying to fix them. (And vice versa.)
  • Most of the time, it’s not personal.
  • I mean, it’s REALLY not personal.
  • My parents were right. Mom: “Just do your best.” Dad: “Then let the chips fall where they may.”

Wishing you all a very rich 2012. -bjc

Leave a Reply

